Advanced Search

Afro Samurai Directors Cut DVD to hit the UK in October

Date: 2007 September 01 18:04

Posted by

Fans of Afro Samurai in the UK will be pleased to hear that on 15th October 2007 the directors cut DVD of the show will be available in the UK. It includes 15 minutes of extra footage, unedited dialogue, features with the voice actors of title too and much more.

Fans who have already bought the limited edition version of Afro Samurai we mentioned earlier may be disappointed to hear that they're releasing an uncut version so soon, as it's always bad to feel as if you're being milked by a company, on the other hand, at least the limited edition version was affordable.

Full Story

Press release as follows:


The Afro Samurai Directors Cut DVD is set to be available for general sale on October 15th 2007.

Plot Outline

Afro Samurai is set in a strange world swords, guns and kimonos, cell phones and cybernetic body parts, where a solitary black samurai, Afro Samurai seeks revenge from a man named Justice who killed his father and who happens to be the #1 fighter in the world. In order to face his enemy and claim his vengeance, he battles and faces a myriad of enemies who seek to take his rank as #2 fighter in the world. As Afro grows closer to facing his father’s killer, we are taken through a deeper ride of who the legendary Afro Samurai really is.

Features Included

  • 15 Minutes of Never Before Seen Footage which present the directors vision of the story

  • Unedited Dialogue as it was meant to be heard

  • In the Booth: the voice talent of Afro Samurai

  • RZA Music Production: the story composing the music

  • Character Profiles: with commentary

  • Afro’s original launch: at Comicon US 2006

  • Production Art Gallery: showing characters and prop designs

  • 20 Page booklet: pitch bible as used by GDH to pitch to TV companies

  • Exclusive Art Cards: one representing each of the 5 episodes

  • Unique reversible DVD covers

Other Info

  • Afro Samurai Directors Cut is 125 minute feature with 45 minutes of documentary extras

  • It will be available in most retail stores and online stores

  • It will be a 2 disc set

  • It is a GONZO production

  • Stars the voices of Samuel L. Jackson, Ron Perlman and Kelly Hu

  • Music is produced by the RZA (Wu-Tang Clan, Kill Bill)

  • Has been certified an 18 by the BBFC

Source: Gonzo
Advanced Search