Advanced Search

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Limited Edition UK Blu-ray Release Details

Date: 2018 March 28 20:13

Posted by

The good folks at Manga Entertainment UK have sent us details of the up coming release of Ghost In the Shell: Stand Alone Complex on Blu-ray. The limited edition set comes with the whole of the Stand Alone Complex Series, that's Season 1, 2nd Gig (that's season 2), The Laughing Man OVA, Individual Eleven OVA and Solid State Society (the TV movie).

The blu-ray set is limited to 1,000 copies and is out on Monday 4th June 2018.

It also comes with a ton of extras Interviews with Kenji Kamiyama (director), Yoko Kanno (composer), voice actors, writers, mecha designers, animation directors and more. Bundled in is an 140 page in depth book.

Ghost In the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is in our opinion the definitive version of the franchise, while the movie is amazing and ground breaking, SAC feels closer to the original manga, capturing the humour and spirit. You've got Tachikoma's too, you can never get enough robot spider tanks running around. That and well, Yoko Kanno's amazing score for the series. The show also gave anime fandom the iconic Laughing Man Logo. We interviewed the graphic designer behind this logo a while ago.

The set is available for pre-order from Zavvi, currently it's £99 for the whole thing on blu-ray.

Full Story

Press release as follows:

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

comes to Deluxe Collectors' Edition Blu-ray

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex

We are very excited to announce the release of Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Series Collection - Deluxe Edition Blu-ray, for sale exclusively on Now available for pre-order, the set is scheduled for release on 4th June. It is limited to 1000 copies.

Never before released on Blu-ray in the UK, this set includes all 52 episodes of Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex and 2nd GIG as well as the Laughing Man and Individual Eleven OVAs and Solid State Society film across 11 discs.


  • Packaged in a deluxe rigid box with metallic finish

  • 11 blu-ray discs including 52 episodes & 3 films, housed in a custom digi-file and featuring new on-disc designs

  • A treasure-trove of on-disc extras with cast & crew interviews, trailers, textless opening and TV spots

  • Exclusive 140 page in-depth book, including interviews, cast & crew profiles, episode breakdowns and more

  • Also features newly restored subtitles

In Depth: Discs & Content

This edition will include all 52 episodes of Stand Alone Complex and 2nd GIG, along with the Laughing Man and Individual Eleven OVAs and Solid State Society telefilm across 11 Blu-ray discs. Packaged in a custom digi-file, they will also feature new on-disc designs.

Audio options are English dub or Japanese language with English subtitles. The subtitles are newly restored & fixed from our previous DVD editions.

On-disc extras include trailer, TV spots and a treasure trove of cast & crew interviews with the likes of director Kenji Kamiyama, composer Yoko Kanno, writer Dai Sato, character designer Takayuki Goto, voice actors Akio Ohtsuka, Koichi Yamadera, Ken Nishida and more.

In Depth: The Book

Alongside the on-disc content, this set includes a 140-page book penned by Philippe Bunel, an anime & film journalist and author. Specially translated for the UK release, the book is available exclusively with the Deluxe Edition Blu-ray.

As well as cast & character profiles, universe timelines and episode breakdowns, the book presents a study of the history, growth and influence of the Cyberpunk movement in Japan and the West, and an in-depth look at the philosophies, references and influences behind the world-renowned franchise.

Also included are a 17-page image gallery, another 17 pages of annotated production sketches, a look at the career and works of mangaka Masamune Shirow, the history of Production I.G and a whole load more GITS SAC content!

Subscribers to our customer mailing list will have exclusive access to excerpts from the book in the run up to the release!


In the not so distant future, mankind has advanced to a state where complete body transplants from flesh to machine is possible. This allows for great increases in both physical and cybernetic prowess and blurring the lines between the two worlds. However, criminals can also make full use of such technology, leading to new and sometimes, very dangerous crimes. In response to such innovative new methods, the Japanese Government has established Section 9, an independently operating police unit which deals with such highly sensitive crimes.

Led by Daisuke Aramaki and Motoko Kusanagi, Section 9 deals with such crimes over the entire social spectrum, usually with success. However, when faced with a new A level hacker nicknamed "The Laughing Man," the team is thrown into a dangerous cat and mouse game, following the hacker's trail as it leaves its mark on Japan.

Source: Manga Entertainment UK
Advanced Search